Skip navigation

NSW Committee

In September 2023, New South Wales Delegates voted in the next State Committee to steer the NSW branch of the Animal Justice Party through the next two years. They bring a wealth of real-world, political and advocacy experience and should provide confidence to the Party Members that the direction of the Party in NSW is in great hands. 


Mr Mark Pearson, State Convenor

Mark Pearson, the first Australian Member of Parliament to be elected on an animal justice platform, and was elected to the NSW Legislative Council in March 2015. Within a year of being...

READ MORE paw print icon

Teresa Romanovsky, General Committee Member

Based in Sydney's Inner West on Gadigal Country, Teresa has been an active member of the AJP since 2017, holding a variety of roles including Regional Group Leader, Party Delegate, Registered Officer...

READ MORE paw print icon

Julie Power, State Secretary

A long term interest in politics drew Julie to the Animal Justice Party as a political party with integrity at its core and a commitment to the most vulnerable on the planet,...

READ MORE paw print icon

Desmond Bellamy, State Treasurer

Desmond Bellamy is currently writing a PhD which is due for completion in 2023 in the School of Culture and Communications at Melbourne University, on the subject of human cannibalism and anthropocentrism....

READ MORE paw print icon

Alison Waters - Ordinary Member

Alison Waters lives in Lismore in northern NSW. She joined the party in 2016, after the Premier’s ‘backflip’ on the greyhound racing ban. Since that time, she has been a candidate at...

READ MORE paw print icon

Cathy Blasonato, General Committee Member

Cathy Blasonato has been involved in animal welfare for 30 years. She has run as a candidate for the Animal Justice Party in the state seat of Ballina in the 2019 lection,...

READ MORE paw print icon